Contested races popular this election season

  • May. 15, 2017 1:30 a.m.

If you like contested elections, this one is for you.

And if you like really contested elections, so much so that there will be a primary Aug. 1, this election is for you, too.

With two hours to go on filing week, a number of the local races have at least three candidates, so a primary will be needed to cut the choices down to two for the general election in November.

One race, for County Council, had been determined earlier this week. But a few others were determined today.

Incumbent Marysville City Coucilwoman Donna Wright is not only being challenged by Mark James, but also Jason Call, who filed Friday.

Three other council spots are up for election. They all have at least one challenger. Elijah Olson and Robert Weiss both filed Friday. Olson will challenge Michael Stevens for Position 4 and Weiss will take on Jeff Vaughan for Position 1. Challenger Tom King is taking on Jeff Seibert in the other race.

The Marysville School District will have one race in the primary, as Clarence Shaw filed Friday to take on incumbent Bruce Larson, who is also challenged by Vanessa Edwards. Ray Sheldon Jr. is challenging incumbent Chris Nation in the other race.

Primaries also will take place for Fire District 15 – between David Sherman of Tulalip, Buckley Evans of Marysville and Mark W. Hatch of Tulalip – and Fire District 21 – with Ken Johnson going against Eric Nordstrom and Randy Dobbins, all of Arlington. In that same fire district, Ed Taft and Steve Meyers, both of Arlington, face off for Position 3.

As reported earlier, four people have shown interest in the County Council job held by appointee Nate Nehring, R-Stanwood – Chris Ihler, R-Silvana, Robert Sutherland, R-Granite Falls, and Democrat Ray Miller of Marysville.

In Arlington, Joshua Roundy is challenging incumbent Chris Raezer, while City Councilwoman Jesica Stickles is being challenged by Craig Christianson. Debora Nelson and Jan Schuette also filed for re-election and at deadline were unopposed.

Arlington schools have to races with challengers: Ursula Ghirardo will be up against Judy Fay, and Lyanne Rolf is facing Marc Rosson.

Among Fire District 21 races, Ken Johnson, Eric Nordstrom and Randy Dobbins are vying for the Position 1 commissioner seat, while Ed Taft and Steve Meyers will face each other for the Position 3 spot. David Safford is unopposed for Position 2.

Others unopposed are:

•Marysville Municipal Court judges Fred Gillings of Snohomish and Lorrie Towers of Mukilteo.

•Fire District 12 Tonya Christoffersen of Tulalip.

•Incumbents Oscar Escalante, Jahna Smith and Catherine “Sandy” Gotts for the Lakewood School District.

•Hospital District 3, Position 5: Tim Cavanaugh of Arlington; Position 2: Tina Davis

•North County Regional Fire Authority, position 4: Jan Iverson, Arlington. Position 5: Ric Cade, Arlington