Lacombe County council appoints reeve and deputy reeve

Lacombe County council appoints reeve and deputy reeve

Lacombe County council re-elected Division 4 Counc. Paula Law as reeve for a seventh one-year term

During the October 22, 2019, Organizational Meeting, Lacombe County Council re-elected Division 4 Councillor Paula Law as Reeve for a seventh one-year term. Councillor Law assumed the Reeve’s Chair after taking the Oath of Office from County Manager, Tim Timmons, and expressed thanks to the members of Council for their continuing support.

“It is my honour and privilege to serve another term as Reeve of Lacombe County, and to continue advocating for our residents and for Central Alberta on regional, provincial and federal issues,” said Reeve Law. “I appreciate the trust and confidence my fellow Councilors have in me, and I’m committed to working with this passionate group of individuals to serve Lacombe County.”

Reeve Law says that she is looking forward to another busy year. Discussions continue for Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks (ICF) – a new requirement under the Municipal Government Act – and updating Intermunicipal Development Plans (IDP). Lacombe County recently signed ICF Master Agreements with the Town of Bentley, Village of Alix and Village of Clive, and are in discussions with Eckville, Blackfalds and Lacombe.

“We are fortunate at Lacombe County to have positive, long-standing relationships with our neighbouring municipalities on these important agreements that will ensure mutual understanding and cooperation between our communities,” said Reeve Law.

Council also voted to re-appoint Division 5 Councillor Ken Wigmore as Deputy Reeve, which is a two-year term. Councillor Wigmore was elected in 2017 as Deputy Reeve.

-Submitted by Lacombe County