Premier Rachel Notley and cabinet sworn in on Sunday

Alberta’s 17th premier, Rachel Notley and her cabinet were sworn in on the steps of the Alberta Legislature this past Sunday.

  • May. 28, 2015 11:00 a.m.

Alberta’s 17th premier, Rachel Notley and her cabinet were sworn in on the steps of the Alberta Legislature this past Sunday.

“Today we open a new chapter in the story of Alberta,” said Notley. “From our earliest days, Albertans have worked as hard as anyone to forge a brighter future. People from all walks of life and from every part of the world, have joined together on a common journey. And on that journey we’ve been guided by enduring values.

“Albertans are hard-working. We are entrepreneurial. And we are relentlessly optimistic. We believe that tomorrow can be a better day. And that we must work hard to make it happen. That’s who we are as Albertans.”

The new cabinet is said to be lean and efficient and is firmly focused on solving the challenges that face Alberta. The newly sworn-in ministers will partner with Alberta’s job creators — in energy, forestry, agriculture, high-tech, tourism and small business — to grow and diversify the economy, officials say.

The cabinet will focus on the priorities of Albertans: to give children the best chance to succeed and get the right start in school, to protect and strengthen public health care so it’s there when families need it, to restore trust and integrity in government — a government that belongs to Albertans and to help build a more prosperous, a more caring and a more hopeful province for every Albertan, she said.

“On this historic day, we are, once again, joining together in pursuit of our common dream — the same dream that has inspired generations of Albertans,” said Notley. “It’s a dream founded on the idea that change is possible — and that a better future awaits.”

The new cabinet in order of precedence is listed as follows:

Rachel Notley – Premier, Minister of International and Intergovernmental Relations.

Brian Mason – Minister of Transportation, Minister of Infrastructure and Government House Leader.

David Eggen – Minister of Education and Minister of Culture and Tourism.

Deron Bilous – Minister of Municipal Affairs, Minister of Service Alberta and Deputy Government House Leader.

Joe Ceci- Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board.

Marg McCuaig-Boyd – Minister of Energy.

Sarah Hoffman – Minister of Health and Minister of Seniors.

Kathleen Ganley – Minister of Justice and Solicitor General and Minister of Aboriginal Relations.

Lori Sigurdson – Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education and Minister of Jobs, Skills, Training and Labour.

Oneil Carlier – Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Rural Development.

Shannon Phillips- Minister of Environment and Sustainable Resource Development,

Minister of Parks and Recreation, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women and

Deputy Government House Leader.

Irfan Sabir – Minister of Human Services.